This event has already occurred
Slideshow image
Save to your Calendar

Presented entirely online this year, Pilgrimage is a series of concerts during the season of Lent by emerging and established artists in Victoria, raising funds in support of the Victoria Hospice Bereavement Services.

In the third concert of Pilgrimage 2021, Cleo Yong and Serena Jack present works for solo and duo violins by Vivaldi, Saint-Saëns, Schubert, Brahms, Dvořák and others.

Violinist and violist Cleo Yong has performed and taught in various orchestras and chamber ensembles. She has performed across North America in festivals such as the Festival Internacional de Musica in Naolinco, Mexico, and has performed as a soloist with the West Vancouver Youth Band Strings Ensembles. Based in Victoria B.C., Cleo is currently continuing her music studies at the University of Victoria under Sharon Stanis and the Lafayette String Quartet.

Deliberately focused as an expressive musician, Serena Jack has performed with various orchestras and quartets around North America. Based in Victoria B.C., Serena is a vivid performer in local cathedrals, churches, and auditoriums. After being awarded Miss World Canada Talent for her violin performances, she recently performed as the main solo violinist at the Casa Loma in Toronto.

The concert may be viewed here or on our live stream page at performance time.

Donate Support our charity partner online, powered by CanadaHelps


The Four Seasons (arr. for two violins)—Antonio Vivaldi (1678 – 1741)
    Summer: I. Allegro II. Adagio III. Presto
    Winter: III. Allegro

Westphalias Waltz, Red Wing, Maple Sugar—Traditional Irish Folk Music
    Serena Jack, violin

Danse Macabre (arr. for violin and viola)—Camille Saint-Saëns (1835 – 1921)
    Serena Jack, violin, Cleo Yong, viola

Ave Maria (arr. for violin and viola)—Franz Schubert (1797 – 1828)

Erlkönig D. 328 (arr. for violin and viola)—Franz Schubert

Sonata No. 2 in A Minor, BWV 1003—J. S. Bach (1685 – 1750)
    III. Andante
    Cleo Yong, violin

Humeresque No. 7 (arr. for violin and viola)—Antonín Dvořák (1841 - 1904)

Passacaglia for Violin and Viola—George Frideric Handel – Johan Halvorsen (d. 1759, d. 1935)